Bear Wood, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bear Wood, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bear Wood

Guide to Bear Wood, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bear Wood, Berkshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Charlton; Sonning
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wokingham
Registration District Wokingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office


Parish History

Bear Wood is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Berkshire, created in 1846 from Hurst Ecclesiastical Parish and Wokingham Ecclesiastical Parish.

BEARWOOD, a chapelry in Hurst and Wokingham parishes, (which also see) Berks; 2¼. miles S of Wokingham. It was constituted in 1846.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bear Wood, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
Bear Wood, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK Undefined

Chapelry ('parish') register exist for this chapel at the Berkshire Record Office and through and its 4,600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide. These registers commence from 1846 to the 20th century.

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241204.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Bear Wood from Hurst in GENUKI


  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870). Accessed: 15 Apr 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 October 2015, at 18:19.
  • This page has been accessed 2,588 times.