Beaumont with Moze, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Beaumont with Moze, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Beaumont with Moze, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Beaumont with Moze, Essex
St Leonard and St Mary Beaumont-cum-Moze contributor Peter Stack.jpg
St Leonard and St Mary Beaumont-cum-Moze contributor Peter Stack
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Tendring
County Essex
Poor Law Union Tendring PLU
Registration District Tendring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1548; Separate registers exist for Moze beginning 1548
Bishop's Transcripts: 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harwich
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Beaumont with Moze or Beaumont-Cum-Moze, is a parish in Tendring district, Essex; near the head of an inlet of the North sea, it is between the Naze an Harwich, it is 4 1/2 miles S of Wrabness railway station, and 10 miles E of Colchester. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Beaumont Parish
Online Beaumont Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1564
1567
1564
Images 1564-1678 EssexAncestors[2] 1567-1677 EssexAncestors[2] 1564-1678 EssexAncestors[2]

Indexes 1564-1678 GoogleBooks[3] 1567-1677 GoogleBooks[3] 1564-1678 GoogleBooks[3]
1565-1678 FamilySearch[4] 1567-1677 FamilySearch[5] 1558-1918 findmypast[6]


1567-1753 findmypast[7]

Moze Parish
Online Moze Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1548
1558
1559
Images 1548-1678 EssexAncestors[2] 1558-1678 EssexAncestors[2] 1559-1674 EssexAncestors[2]

Indexes 1550-1678 GoogleBooks[8] 1557-1674 GoogleBooks[8] 1558-1678 GoogleBooks[8]


1557-1674 findmypast[7] 1558-1918 findmypast[6]
Beaumont with Moze Parish
Online Beaumont with Moze Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1678
1678
1678
Images 1678-1871 EssexAncestors[2] 1678-1958 EssexAncestors[2] 1678-1918 EssexAncestors[2]

Indexes

1678-1753 findmypast[7] 1558-1918 findmypast[6]

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office and include not only the Parish register and Bishop's Transcripts images but also the transcript of the olde parishes of Beaumont and Moze (prior to 1678) as well as census for 1821.

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241376.


The 1821 Census of Beaumont-cum-Moze exists.

Poor Law Unions

Tendring Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Beaumont with Moze on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted access date 7 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 2.5 2.6 2.7 2.8 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Frederick Arthur Crisp, The Parish Registers of Beaumont, Essex (London: F.A. Crisp, 1899). Digitised by Google Books.
  4. Batch P008181, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  5. Batch M008181, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  8. 8.0 8.1 8.2 Frederick Arthur Crisp, The Parish Registers of Moze, Essex (London: F.A. Crisp, 1899). Digitised by Google Books.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 March 2015, at 18:01.
  • This page has been accessed 9,399 times.