Beckley, Oxfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Beckley, Oxfordshire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Beckley, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Beckley, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ashendon; Bullingdon
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Headington PLU
Registration District Headington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1703
Bishop's Transcripts: 1678; 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Islip
Diocese Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and the Archdeaconry of Oxford
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BECKLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Headington, hundred of Bullington, county of Oxford, 4 miles (N. N. W.) from Wheatly containing the hamlets of Studley and Horton. [1]

Beckley is an Ancient Parish partly in Buckinghamshire and mostly in Oxfordshire.

 A more detailed explanation of this parish is provided through Genuki.co.uk and UK Genealogy Archives.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Beckley, Oxfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Beckley, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1678-1851 1721-1836
OFHS 1678-1979
1703-1979
1678-1976

Bishop's transcripts for Beckley, 1678-1851. Film number 095212 as listed in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 0474572.

To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.

findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 188-194. Date accessed: 18 September 2012.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Oxford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 16 January 2014.
  3. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 May 2015, at 18:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,887 times.