Belchamp Otten, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Belchamp Otten, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes

Guide to Belchamp Otten, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Belchamp Otten, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Sudbury
Registration District Sudbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1578
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Yeldham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office


Parish History

BELCHAMP-OTTON (St. Ethelbert and All Saints), is a parish, in the union of Sudbury, the hundred of Hinckford, and N. division of Essex, it is 5¼ miles (N. by E.) from Castle-Hedingham. This place derives the adjunct to its name from an ancient possessor called Otton, or Otho..[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Belchamp Otten Parish Register Images and Indexes
Images 1578-1872 EssexAncestors[2] 1578-1957 EssexAncestors[2] 1578-1812 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1578-1812
FreeREG[3] 1578-1733
FreeREG[3] 1578-1812 FreeREG[3]
1578-1836 findmypast[4] 1579-1798 findmypast[5]

The registers skip 1623 to 1655 and 1681.[3]

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241369.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Belchamp Otten on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: access date 11 June 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 15 April 2012.
  4. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,", accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 22:41.
  • This page has been accessed 7,035 times.