Belmont, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Belmont, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Belmont, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Belmont, Durham
Belmont St Mary Magdalene Durham.jpg
Belmont St Mary Magdalene Durham
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Durham City
County Durham
Poor Law Union Durham PLU
Registration District Durham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1858; For more records see Durham St Giles
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BELMONT, a chapelry in the parish and county of Durham; on the Durham and Sunderland railway, 2 miles ENE of Durham. It was constituted in 1852; it contains the Durham suburb of Gilesgate-Moor or Gilligate, and the villages of Broomside and Carrville; and its Post Town is Durham. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

The Parish Registers for the period 1858-1976 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Bel)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Roman Catholic
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241358.


Poor Law Unions

Durham Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Belmont Chapelry (see Durham St Giles) on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 May 2015, at 18:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,312 times.