Belper, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Belper, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Belper, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Belper, Derbyshire
Belper St John the Baptist Deerbyshire.jpg
Belper St John the Baptist Deerbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Belper PLU
Registration District Belper
Records begin
Parish registers: 1783
Bishop's Transcripts: 1783
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Duffield
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BELPER, a market-town and chapelry, and the head of a union, in the parish of Duffield, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 8 miles (N.) from Derby, and 134 (N. N. W.) from London with nearly the whole of the ecclesiastical parish of Bridge-Hill. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, and Unitarians. The union of Belper comprises 35 parishes. [1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241287.


Church records

Belper Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials havehave online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Belper St Peter (1783) Chapelry (1843) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1866-1912
  NONE
1847-1908
  NONE
1813-1895
  NONE

Belper St. Peter was created as a chapelry in Duffield parish in 1783, with St. John the Baptist chapel built in 1824, and made a civil parish in 1843. Parish registers for baptisms start in 1783 and burials in 1794, while marriages begin in 1847. The original registers are held at the Derbyshire Record Office (call no.: D2609A/PI/1/1-2, D2609A/PI/2/1-6, D2609A/PI/3/1-7, P1928/PI/4/1, D1928/PI/5/1-4, D2609A/6/1/1-3). They have been microfilmed and are available through the Family History Library[1]. The records include an index.

Bishop's Transcripts are available for 1783-1832 (with 1815 and 1825 missing), also available on film through the Family History Library[2].

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Christians
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • General Baptist
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Unitarian
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District
  • Belper

Poor Law Unions

Belper Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Belper on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 203-207. Date accessed: 08 April 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 July 2015, at 10:39.
  • This page has been accessed 2,622 times.