Belton (near Epworth), LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Parishes

Belton (near Epworth), Lincolnshire
Belton All Saints Lincolnshire.JPG
Belton All Saints Lincolnshire.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Manley
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Thorne PLU
Registration District Thorne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1542
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Corringham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Belton All Saints is an Ancient parish in the Isle of Axholme area of North Lincolnshire.

Belton parish boundaries include the hamlets of Beltoft, Sandtoft, Churchtown, Bracon, Carrhouse, Mosswood, Grey Green and Westgate.

The church has been designated as a grade I listed building by English Heritage. search listed building

RAF Sandtoft, a former RAF Bomber Command base, closed in 1955 and has since been converted to other use, including for Sandtoft Airfield which is home to Sandtoft Flying School.


"BELTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Thorne, W. Division of the wapentake of Manley, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 1¾ mile (N.) from Epworth. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans." [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of the Thorne registration district from 1837-1947 when it became part of the Don Valley registration district. registration district

Registers are now held at North Lincolnshire
The Register Office
92 Oswald Road
Scunthorpe
DN15 7PA
01724 843915. registrars@northlincs.gov.uk

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Belton in Axholme Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Belton (near Epworth)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438761.Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Thorne Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 203-207. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.


   Lincolnshire


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2014, at 14:19.
  • This page has been accessed 1,705 times.