Belton (near Grantham), Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Belton (near Grantham), Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Belton (near Grantham), Lincolnshire
St Peter+St+Paul Belton Lincolnshire.JPG
St Peter+St+Paul Belton Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grantham Borough
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Grantham PLU
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Grantham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

The Ancient Parish church of St. Peter and St.Paul was first recorded in the Domesday Book and notable for  Norman, late Medieval, Georgian and Victorian alterations and additions.

In May 1643 Parliamentary cavalry, under the leadership of Oliver Cromwell, clashed with Royalist forces on land between Belton and Syston, to the north of where Belton Woods hotel now stands. The Belton church register records "May 1643, buried three unknown soldiers, slain in Belton fight"

The church lies in the grounds of Belton Hall a Grade 1 listed building now a National Trust property which dates from 1686.

Belton near Grantham should not be confused with Belton (near Epworth), Lincolnshire in the same county and Diocese.

BELTON (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Loveden, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 2½ miles (N. N. E.) from Grantham. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing effforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Belton (Grantham) Par 1 will identify available images.


Search FamilySearch Catalogue Belton (near Grantham)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756.


Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/BeltonbyGrantham/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 203-207. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 17:47.
  • This page has been accessed 2,410 times.