Benenden, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Benenden, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Benenden St George Kent.jpg
Benenden, Kent
Benenden St George Kent.jpg
Benenden St George Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rolvenden
County Kent
Poor Law Union Cranbrook PLU
Registration District Cranbrook
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

BENENDEN (St. George), a parish, in the union of Cranbrooke, hundred of Rolvenden, Lower division of the lathe of Scray, W. division of Kent, 3¼ miles (S. E.) from Cranbrooke.[1]

Benenden St George is an Ancient Parish which includes the settlements of Iden Green, East End, Dingleden and Standen Street within the parish boundary .

The village and civil parish of Benenden are in the Tunbridge Wells district of Kent County Council.See Benenden Wikipedia

The Domesday survey refers to a church.

The church was mediaeval and was damaged by fire in the 17th century. The restored church of 1862 is the work of David Brandon.

The Parish church of St George, Fuggles Court, Benenden has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building and a group of tombs and other features around the church have also been listed. The parish  is in the Canterbury Diocese Deanery website and a map of the parish boundary may be viewed at A church near you.

See also Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 173-183 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Benenden School is an independent boarding school whose Alumni include the Princess Royal, Rachel Weissz actress and other notable journalists and civil servants. See Benenden School Wikipedia Several buildings have been designated listed buildings the 1970's restoration of the Victorian Ice House has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

In 1907 a chest hospital funded by trade unions and friendly societies was established here specialising in the treatment of tuberculosis.The Benenden Hospital Lister Wing has been designated as a grade II listed building British Listed Building

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was within the Cranbrook registration district See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Benenden, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[7]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[9]
Benenden, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1661-1754

FMP 1558-1906
1578-1836
1558-1906
FREG
1538-1600, 1754-1911

FS PRs 1616-1869 1616-1837; 1754-1812 (banns) 1616-1875
MIDK 1754-1911
NBI

1558-1906

Census records

Census returns for Benenden 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Cranbrook Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 207-210. Date accessed 1 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  8. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 15:23.
  • This page has been accessed 3,398 times.