Bere Regis, Dorset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bere Regis, Dorset)

England Gotoarrow.png Dorset Gotoarrow.png Dorset Parishes

Guide to Bere Regis, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bere Regis, Dorset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bere-Regis
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Wareham and Purbeck
Registration District Blandford; Wareham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1788; Separate registers exist for Milborne Stileham beginning 1687
Bishop's Transcripts: 1585
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Whitchurch
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BERE-REGIS, a small ancient town, a parish, a subdistrict, and a hundred in Dorset. The town stands on the Bere rivulet, adjacent to a vast tract of barren heath, 1¾ mile N of the river Piddle, 5¾ miles N by W of Wool r. station, and 8 SSW of Blandford-Forum. There are chapels for Independents and Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Bere Regis, Dorset Genealogy Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1770
1669
1770
Images
1770-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1929 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1669-1711 findmypast[6]

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241336.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 03 July 2103.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 5 July 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 January 2016, at 03:27.
  • This page has been accessed 3,535 times.