Berechurch, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Essex Gotoarrow.png  Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Berechurch

Guide to Berechurch, Essex family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Berechurch, Essex
St Michael and All Angels, Berechurch, Essex .jpg
St Michael and All Angels, Berechurch, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Colchester Borough
County Essex
Poor Law Union Colchester PLU
Registration District Colchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1664
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Colchester
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BERECHURCH or BERE-CHURCH (St. Michael), is a parish, in the union, and within the liberties of the borough, of Colchester, N. division of Essex, it is 2¼ miles (S. by W.) from Colchester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Berechurch Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1664
1664
1664
Images 1664-1969 EssexAncestors[2] 1664-1957 EssexAncestors[2] 1664-1985 EssexAncestors[2]
Indexes 1664-1812 FamilySearch[3] 1664-1837 FamilySearch[4]
1664-1740 FindMyPast[5]

.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241380.


Poor Law Unions

Colchester Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  3. Batch C035971, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  4. Batch M035971, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  5. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 2,884 times.