Bernalillo County, New MexicoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Bernalillo County

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/New Mexico_Online_Genealogy_Records New Mexico
Online Records


Bernalillo County, New Mexico
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 22, 1846
County Seat Albuquerque
Courthouse
Address Bernalillo County Courthouse
1 Civic Plaza NW;
Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone:. 505.768.4090 
Bernalillo County Website
Nm-bernalillo.png

Contents

County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage records from 1885, probate records from 1895 and land records from 1888; District Court Clerk has divorce and court records.[1]

History

Parent County

  • Before 1821New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
  • In 1821Mexico obtained jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
  • 22 September 1846 - Bernalillo County was created based on an old Mexican government partido  under the Kearny Code of laws for the occupied Mexican territory.[2][3] Bernalillo county was one of seven original New Mexico counties. This code named after General Stephen W. Kearny
    In 1848, New Mexico Territory formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended with the signing of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.
Bernalillo and other counties in New Mexico Territory in 1852.


Boundary Changes

  • 9 January 1852 - All New Mexico counties were redefined. Bernalillo county was extended west to the California border including land in present day Arizona and Nevada.[4] [5] [6] Residents far from the county seat, probably did not send many records to the county offices.
  • 29 December 1863 - Arizona Territory was created from the western half of New Mexico Territory. Bernalillo county was reduced in size to the portion that was still in New Mexico Territory.[7]
  • 13 Jan 1876 SANTA ANA county discontinued, BERNALILLO county gained all of its lands and records.[8]
  • 1 Jan 1901 BERNALILLO county lost land to the creation of McKINLEY county. [9]

14 Apr 1903 BERNALILLO county lost land to the creation of SANDOVAL county. [10]
1 Jan 1905 BERNALILLO county lost land to the creation of TORRANCE county.[11]

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. See also Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona for further details.

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

  • Tijeras Cemetery, Tijeras at BillionGraves. Cemetery appears to be inside south part of freeway interchange involving State Highway 337, US 85, and I-40. A small church is also inside this as well.

Census

For tips on accessing Bernalillo County, New Mexico census records online, see: New Mexico Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Albuquerque

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bernalillo County, New Mexico. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps

Nmbernalillo.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Finding More New Mexico Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bernalillo County, New Mexico newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Taxation

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.

Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office

Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court

Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.

See also How to order New Mexico Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for New Mexico Birth Certificate, Death Certificate Applications to mail.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of New Mexico Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers




Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bernalillo County, New Mexico page 473, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Courts and Judicial Powers, Sec. 5” Kearny Code: Laws for the Government of the Territory of New Mexico, September 22, 1846 (Santa Fe, N. Mex.: S. W. Kearny, 1846), 47. Digital online edition.
  3. Kearny's Code 1846, "Courts and Judicial Powers,” secs. 5-7/p. 49; Abel, Map #2; Coan, 252; Williams, 108-109
  4. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 291
  5. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  6. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  7. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, pp. 664-665; Van Zandt, 165
  8. N.M. Terr. Laws 1875-1876, 22d assy., ch. 8/pp. 38-40
  9. N.M. Terr. Laws 1899, 33d assy., ch. 19/pp. 43-45
  10. N.M. Terr. Laws 1903, 35th assy., ch. 27/pp. 37-43
  11. N.M. Terr. Laws 1903, 35th assy., ch. 70/pp. 132-134

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 April 2014, at 00:47.
  • This page has been accessed 8,190 times.