Bernisch Messen, Bern, SwitzerlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngBern Gotoarrow.png Bernisch Messen


Guide to Bernisch Messen parish, Bern, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.




The civil parish of Bernisch Messen is part of the church parish of Messen in Canton Solothurn.

Contents

Locations within Messen - Bernisch Messen

Kirchgemeinde of Messen - 9.09 square miles
area on google maps
Gemeinde
Population in
1798
Area in Square
Miles
Balm bei Messen
62
.84
Gächliwil
55
abt .60
Messen
334
2.73
Oberramsern
68
.68
Locations within Bern
Etzelkofen
--
1.08
Mülchi
--
1.47
Ruppoldsried
--
.85
Scheunen
--
.84
Totals
---
9.09

Surrounding Parishes

Church Records

(see here for an article describing the Bern Church records)

Bernisch Messen is and always was part of the church parish of Messen.  The baptismal records of the Bernish part of the parish of Messen were copied from 1810 and are kept in the Bern Cantonal Archive.  The marriage and burial records for those living in Bernisch Messen are found in the Messen church records.

The parish registers for Bernisch Messen were recorded in the following volumes, as numbered by the Cantonal Archive of Bern:

Baptisms
Volume Description Time period Link to records Index Film
K1 Taufrodel 1 1810-1860 here
K2 Taufrodel 2 1860-1875 here
K3 Taufrodel auswärts Getaufte 1800-1862 here
K4 Taufrodel auswärts Getaufte 1861-1875 here
Marriages
Burials
Miscellaneous

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Bernisch Messen families:

Civil Registration

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Bernisch Messen prior to 1875:

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Bern

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 March 2015, at 23:34.
  • This page has been accessed 413 times.