Berwick Bassett, Wiltshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Berwick Bassett, Wiltshire)

England go to Wiltshirego to Wiltshire Parishes

Guide to Berwick Bassett, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Berwick Bassett, Wiltshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Calne
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Marlborough PLU
Registration District Marlborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1674
Bishop's Transcripts: 1579
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Avebury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Treasurer of Salisbury in the Prebendal of Calne
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BERWICK-BASSETT (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Marlborough, hundred of Calne, Marlborough and Ramsbury, and N. divisions of Wilts, 8 miles (N. W. by W.) from Marlborough. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Berwick Bassett, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Berwick Bassett, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1838-1907
1674-1747

IGI 1674-1875 1674-1837
NBI

1580-1837
NIM 1580-1840
1579-1837
1580-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464193.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 214-223. Date accessed: 14 August 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  5. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:46.
  • This page has been accessed 1,975 times.