Berwick upon Tweed Holy Trinity, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Church of the Holy Trinity Berwick upon Tweed.JPG


Contents

Parish History

BERWICK-UPON-TWEED (Holy Trinity), a port, borough, market-town,parish, and county of itself, and the head of a union, 64 miles (N. by W.) from Newcastle-upon-Tyne, and 334 (N. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for members of the Scottish Kirk, the Associate Synod, the Scottish Relief, Particular Baptists, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Parish Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/25 March 1764-1840 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at  FamilySearch Historical Records; however the images of the parish transcripts have not yet been loaded.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Berwick, Holy Trinity: Records of baptisms 1574-1972, marriages 1572-1992 and burials 1572-1915 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. Baptisms 1574-1924, marriages 1572-1932 and burials 1572-1915 can also be seen at Berwick Record Office. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1574-1812 and marriages 1695-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1572-1812 and banns 1776-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1574-1812, marriages 1572-1812 and burials 1574-1812 for Berwick are available at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Dept. and Gateshead Central Library, Local Studies Dept. has transcripts covering baptisms 1574-1700 and marriages 1572-1812.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438897.

Poor Law Unions

Berwick Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 31 July 2013.

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 February 2014, at 02:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,105 times.