Beswick Christ Church, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
BESWICK, [St Mary] an extra-parochial district, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 1½ mile east from Manchester. Beswick is an extra-parochial place prior to the foundation of Beswick St Mary ( The Bishop Lee Memorial Church).
Search surrounding parishes for records and information (see the "Manchester" page and click on "A Comprehensive List of All Pre-1851 Manchester Parishes and Chapelries" or see the 1851 Jurisdiction Maps to find the names of all those chapels lying within Manchester's civil parish boundaries).
Beswick St Mary was established as a district chapelry in 1878 and the living was in part linked to the Bishop of Manchester.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
- Manchester 1837-1874
- Prestwich 1874-1925
- Mancester North 1925-1934
- Heywood 1934-1974
- Greater Manchester post 1974
Beswick St Mary's was an extra-parochial place a mile northeast of Manchester's town centre, but had two chapel districts residing within it--including Beswick Christ Church, which was built in 1862.
Online transcriptions exist for the baptisms, marriages and burials (where extant) registers of both chapelries as well as for the ancient parish of Manchester (Cathedral) Our Lady, St George and St Denys. Displayed below are these two chapelries and for the Cathedral located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|FMP = FMP = FindMyPast|
|LBMD = Lancashire BMD|
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk|
|BESWICK CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1862) Indexes|
|BESWICK ST MARY EXTRA PAROCHIAL Chapel (1878) Indexes|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of all of the chapelries and district churches in the City of Manchester, and their respective links to online transcriptions of baptisms, marriages and burials, be sure to see the ancient parish of MANCHESTER OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
The original Parish (chapelry) registers for St. Mary's Church, Beswick, 1878-1966 have been microfilmed, taken of original records formerly held in the Manchester Central Library, Manchester.
The church is also known as "Bishop Lee Memorial Church".
Manchester Central Library call nos.: M 280/1/1/1-2. M 280/1/2/1-7.
| Inventory of church records. Baptisms, 1878-1944. Marriages, 1879-Jan. 1890.
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
| Marriages, Jan. 1890-July 1935.
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
| Marriages, July 1935-1966.
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438731. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=41422 British History Online Beswick
In addition to being subject of an art work by L.S.Lowry St Mary's was featured as a location in John Schlesinger's 1962 Film "A kind of Loving" in http://www.reelstreets.com/public/p_film_page.php?film=kind_of_loving
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 223-228. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50795 Date accessed: 25 June 2010.
- This page was last modified on 29 September 2012, at 12:01.
- This page has been accessed 423 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More