Betws Ifan, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bettws-Jeuvan, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngBetws Ifan

A guide to genealogy in Betws Ifan, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...

Betws Ifan is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales. The village is in the community of Beulah.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

BETTWS-IEUVAN, or EVAN (BETTWS-IEUAN), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 5 Miles (N.) from Newcastle-Emlyn. This parish is situated a short distance to the east of the turnpike road leading from Cardigan to Aberystwith. The living is a perpetual curacy, annexed, with that of Brongwyn, to the vicarage of Penbryn in the archdeaconry of Cardigan, and diocese of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. John, is a small edifice in the early English style; it has of late years been repaired. There is a place of worship, or schoolroom, for Independents.[1]

For further information on Betws Ifan see Betws Ifan at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 81-88. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 January 2014, at 17:07.
  • This page has been accessed 546 times.