Betws, Carmarthenshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Betws, Carmarthenshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CarmarthenshireGotoarrow.pngBetws

A guide to genealogy in Betws, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Betws is a village, community and ecclesiastical parish in Carmarthenshire, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Carmarthenshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Carmarthenshire.

Contents

History

BETTWS, a parish, in the union of LLANELLY, hundred of ISKENNEN, ... 8 mile (S.) from Llandilo-Vawr; comprising the upper and lower divisions. and situated within a short distance of the turnpike-road leading from Llandilo-Vawr to Swansea. A considerable part of the surface is mountainous and barren, and the level portion contains some tracts of woodland. A small quantity of grain is grown, but the chief produce is cheese and butter. The river Amman runs through the parish, and two brooks called Cathan and Nantyfin. Slate is quarried, and coal and iron-mines are in operation, a rail-road having recently been made. The church, dedicated to St. David. A Sunday school affords instruction gratuitously in the Welsh language.[1]

For more information on Betws see Betws at Genuki.

Administration

Years County
before 31 March 1974 Carmarthenshire
1 April 1974 - 31 March 1996 Dyfed
from 1 April 1996 Carmarthenshire

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464311.


Probate Records

Poor Law Union Records

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Betws at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 81-88. Adapted. Date accessed: 10 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 663 times.