Betws Bledrws, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngBetws Bledrws

A guide to genealogy in Betws Bledrws, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Betws Bledrws is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.



BETTWS-BLEDRWS, a parish in the upper division of the hundred of MOYTHEN , county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES 3¼, miles (N.E.) from Lampeter, on the road to Trêgaron. At a short distance from the road is Dery Ormond, the seat of John Jones, Esq., an elegant modern mansion, erected in 1827, and beautifully situated under the shelter of a lofty hill covered with luxuriant plantations. The church, dedicated to St. Bleddrws, is a very neat well-built edifice, altered and repaired in 1831, with a tower surmounted by a well-proportioned spire eased with slate. There are places of worship for Baptists and Calvinistic Methodists.[1]

For further information, see Betws Bledrws at Genuki.


Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464304.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 81-88. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 687 times.