Betws Tir Iarll, BridgendEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Betws Tir Iarll, Glamorgan)

WalesGotoarrow.pngGlamorgan ParishesGotoarrow.pngBridgendGotoarrow.pngBetws Tir Iarll

Betws Tir Iarll is a parish.


Contents

History

BETTWS, a parish, in the union of Bridgend and Cowbridge, hundred of Newcastle, county of Glamorgan, South Wales, 4 miles (N.) from Bridgend. This parish is pleasantly situated on the river Ogmore, not far from its confluence with the Severn, and is watered also by the rivulets Llynvi and Garw, which bound it on two sides. On the north and north-east lies the parish of Llangeinor, on the south that of St. Bride's Minor, and on the west the parish of Llangonoyd. The lands consist of well-cultivated fields, good pastures, woods, and mountains; the scenery, which is plentifully interspersed with oak, is rich and beautiful, and the views from different parts of the parish diversified and extensive, especially that from the lofty eminence of More-gila, which embraces among many other interesting objects, the fine vale of Glamorgan. The church, dedicated to St. David, is not distinguished for its architectural features; it is fifty-nine feet in length, and eighteen feet in breadth. There is a place of worship for Unitarians.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Several Internet sites list names or indexes to the records, including:

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census Records

Census for the entire country was started in 1841 and continued every ten years. The most recent census available to the public is 1911. Learn more about these records by reading the census article.

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464331.

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Glamorgan Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in Wales. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here is a link to a web site with gazetteers and maps.

Click here to see a list of communities in Betws Tir Iarll.

Websites

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 81-88. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 January 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 414 times.