Bexley, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Bexley, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Mary the Virgin Bexley Kent.jpg

Contents

Parish History

BEXLEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Dartford, partly in the hundred of Lessness, but chiefly in the hundred of Ruxley, lathe of Sutton-AtHone, W. division of Kent, 3 miles (W.) from Dartford.[1]

Bexley is a a town in the London Borough of Bexley Bexley Wikipedia.

Bexley St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish in Kent Church Website which included within the parish boundary Lamorbey Bexleyheath and part of Welling. Lamorbey Park was developed see also Lamorbey Wikipedia

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 162-183 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Bexley North West Kent Family History Society and Bexley St Mary

Other parishes fromed from the Ancient Parish include

Lamorbey Holy Trinity Halfway Street see Lamorbey Holy Trinity and Kent Churches website

St John Park Hill Road St John Park Hill Road Kent Churches website

Bexleyheath The Broadway Bexleyheath Christ Church Kent Churches website

Other places of worship include

Baptist: The Broadway, Bexleyheath. Established 1827, demolished 1956.

Bexleyheath Trinity Baptist

Bethany Wesleyan Methodist Bexleyheath North St Methodist Church

Albany Park Baptist Church, Stansted Crescent, Bexley Church website
St John Fisher Roman Catholic Church, Thanet Road, Bexley
Strict Baptist Chapel, Bourne Road, Bexley
United Reformed Church, Hurst Road, Bexley
Our Lady of Angels

Congregational: Chapel Rd, Bexleyheath. Built 1853-4, demolished 1987.

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District Sidcup Registration District Bexley Registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bexley, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Bexley, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1842


FS BTs 1813-1899 1813-1899 1813-1899
FS PRs 1565-1876 1565-1876; 1754-1826 (banns) 1565-1876
IGI 1565-1875 1565-1706, 1723-1876

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Bexley Local Studies and Archive Centre is the Diocesan Record Office for all the Church of England Parishes within the London Borough of Bexley reference PA23 St Mary's, Bexley 1565-2002

Barnes Cray parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Barnes Cray Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1917-1942


Bexley Heath parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Bexley Heath Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1842-1904 1842-1904 1842-1904

Lamorbey registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Lamorbey Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1846-1878 1846-1878 1846-1878

Land Tax

Images for Bexley are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for Bexley 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Dartford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Cemeteries

Bexleyheath Cemetery burials from 1879 through 1897 are available online at FreeREG - free.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848), pp. 228-233. Date accessed: 1 July 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 20:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,606 times.