Bickley, Cheshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bickley, Cheshire)

EnglandGotoarrow.pngCheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.pngBickley

Guide to Bickley, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Parish History

BICKLEY, a township, in the parish of Malpas, union of Nantwich, Higher division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, 3½ miles (E. N. E.) from Malpas. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 104269.

Church records

Bickley St Winefrede parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Bickley St Winefrede Parish (1893) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1892-1909   NONE

Bickley St Winefrede township in Malpas, created a parish in 1893 from Malbad, Marbury, and Wrenbury.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Bickley, 1892-1965 Cheshire Record Office: P 228/1-3.

Parish Registers: Bickley Film
Baptisms, 1892-1965. Marriages, 1893-1948. Grave registers, 1893-1935.
2186839 Items 7 - 9

Bishop's transcripts for Bickley, 1892-1894 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 24

Bishops Transcripts: Bickley Film
Baptisms, 1892-1894, burials, 1892-1894.
1647364 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Nantwich (1837-53)
  • Whitchurch (1853-1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937-74)
  • Chester & Ellesmere Port (1974-98)
  • Cheshire West (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Nantwich (1837-53)
  • Whitchurch (1853-1930)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.See also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 233-237. Date accessed: 06 January 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 June 2015, at 00:25.
  • This page has been accessed 678 times.