Bigby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bigby, Lincolnshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Bigby, Lincolnshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Bigby, Lincolnshire
Bigby All Saints Lincolnshire.jpg
Bigby All Saints Lincolnshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Yarborough
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Caistor PLU
Registration District Caistor
Records begin
Parish registers: 1697
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Yarborough
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bigby All Saints is an Ancient Parish and Glanford Bridge, Lincolnshire was formed as a chapelry of this parish which included Kettleby, Kettleby Thorpe and Bigby Thorpe. The nearby hamlet of Somerby is also included.

The church dates from the 12th century with 13th century tower and 15th century additions and was restored in 1779 and 1878. It has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage.

"BIGBY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Caistor, S. division of the wapentake of Yarborough, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 4½ miles (E.) from Glandford-Brigg. It contains, also the hamlets of Kettleby and Kettleby-Thorp. The village and civil parish is four miles east of Brigg, Lincolnshire.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Caistor sub-district of Caistor registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Bigby Par 1 will identify available images.

 Search FamilySearch Catalogue Bigby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438761.

Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Caistor Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Bigby/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 237-241. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 17:51.
  • This page has been accessed 2,016 times.