Billericay, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Billericay, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St. Mary Magdalen, Billericay
|Poor Law Union||Billericay PLU|
|Parish registers: 1844|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1845|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
BILLERICAY,is a market-town and a chapelry district, and the head of a union, in the parish of Great Burstead, the hundred of Barstable, and S. division of Essex, it is 9½ miles (S. S. W.) from Chelmsford. The name, was anciently written Beleuca. The town is pleasantly situated on the road from London to Southend. The Eastern Counties railway passes a few miles to the north-west. The chapel, dedicated to St. Mary Magdalene, it was probably erected in the 14th century. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, and Independents.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Billericay, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Billericay, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St Mary Magadalen See also Christ Church, Holy Redeemer, St Andrew's Hospital, Billericay Congregational Church and South Green Congregational Church.
- Society of Friends/Quaker
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241360.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Billericay on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
- ↑ Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
- ↑ 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
- This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 22:53.
- This page has been accessed 8,746 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News