Billingham, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Billingham, Durham)

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Billingham, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Billingham, Durham
Billingham St Cuthbert Co Durham.jpg
Billingham St Cuthbert Co Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Stockton PLU
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History 

BILLINGHAM (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Stockton-Upon-Tees, N. E. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham . There is a place of worship for Methodists. [1]

Additional information:

Haverton Hill Chapelry stood within the boundary of this parish as well. It was built by the year 1862 (which also see).

St Cuthbert, Billingham is an ancient parish and the church occupies the site of a predecessor originally founded by Eanred in 860. The parish includes Cowpen Bewley and Wolverton.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/27 Date: May 1762-May 1872  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records; however the parish register images await loading by engineers.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1569-1953 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Bi).

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Billingham are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-

  • Bellasis 1919-1940 (EP/Hav).
  • Billingham, St. Aidan 1976-1981 (EP/Bi.SA).
  • Billingham, St. Luke 1966-1977. (EP/BI.SL).
  • Haverton Hill 1866-1973 (EP/Hav).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241356.


Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Billingham on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 March 2015, at 15:41.
  • This page has been accessed 2,880 times.