Binbrook St Mary and St Gabriel, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Binbrook St Mary and St Gabriel, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Binbrook St Mary and St Gabriel, Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Walshcroft
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Louth PLU
Registration District Louth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1688; Separate registers exist for Binbrook St Mary beginning 1694
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561; Separate records exist for Binbrook St Mary beginning 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walshcroft
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of Lincoln; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BINBROOKE, a district (formerly a markettown) comprising the parishes of St. Gabriel and St. Mary, in the union of Louth, S. division of the wapentake of Walshcroft, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 8 miles (E. N. E.) from Market-Rasen. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Binbrook Par 1, Binbrook St Gabriel Par1, Binbrook St Mary Par 1 will identify available images for registers.


Search FamilySearch Catalogue Binbrook St Mary and St Gabriel

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438761.

Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Louth Poor Law Union,Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Binbrook/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 244-248. Date accessed: 07 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 17:54.
  • This page has been accessed 2,738 times.