Bircham Tofts, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Bircham Tofts, Norfolk
Bircham Tofts Ru ins contributor Evelyn Simak.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Smithdon
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Docking PLU
Registration District Docking
Records begin
Parish records: 1715
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Heacham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bircham Tofts St Andrew was an Ancient Parish in the county of Norfolk. St Andrew's church is ruin in Church Lane and fell into disuse and disrepair when the small population could no longer sustain a rector and the parish was combined with Bircham Newton, Norfolk. "BIRCHAM-TOFTS lies from half a mile to a mile E. of Great Bircham, and is a small village and parish, with 135 inhabitants and 1431 acres of land. It is in Docking union, Fakenham county court district, Smithdon and Brothercross petty sessional division, Docking polling district of West Norfolk, Heacham deanery, and Norfolk archdeaconry. The rateable value is £788. The Marquis of Cholmondeley is owner of the soil and lord of the manor. Nearly all the cottages were rebuilt about fifteen years ago by the late Marquis of Cholmondeley.
The CHURCH (St. Andrew) is a small plain structure, consisting only of a nave and a square tower containing one bell, and surmounted by a small wooden spire."William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1883

Bircham Tofts is one of the three villages that make up the civil parish of Bircham, in the west of the English county of Norfolk. The village is located about 1 km east of the village of Great Bircham, 20 km north-east of the town of King's Lynn, and 60 km north-west of the city of Norwich.

BIRCHAM-TOFTS (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 7¼ miles (S. S. W.) from Burnham-Westgate. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bircham Tofts, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[9]
BIRCHAM TOFTS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1715-1837

FREG 1705-1924
1717-1933
1696-1956
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1715-1924 Undefined 1715-1810, 1813-1836, 1840-1933 Undefined 1715-1956
JOIN
1698-1836

PALL
1790-1812

PRTS 1813-1924
1717-1933
1813-1956

Deposited registers for Parish Records of Great Bircham with Bircham Newton and Bircham Tofts reference PD34 Norfolk Record Office

Parish registers for Bircham-Tofts Microfilm copy of original in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library in Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms, burials, 1715-1812; marriages, 1715-1754. Baptisms, 1813-1924. FHL BRITISH Film 1951566 Items 18 - 19
Marriages and marriage banns, 1754-1810. Marriages, 1813-1933. Burials, 1813-1956. FHL BRITISH Film 1951567 Items 1 - 4
Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1812
Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.

Baptisms and burials 1725-1812 Marriages 1727-1810 FHL BRITISH Film 1526809 Item 13

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.


Poor Law Unions

Docking Poor Law Union, Norfolk

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 248-255. Date accessed: 2 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 24 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 February 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 7 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 20:09.
  • This page has been accessed 1,047 times.