Bircle, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bircle

Guide to Bircle, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

History

Bircle was created a chapelry in 1848, taken from and lying within Middleton ancient parish in the district of Bury, Lancashire. It is sometimes known as Birtle (see page) It lies near the Manchester and Rosendale railway, 2½ miles NE of Bury. There are three dissenting chapels. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306928.

Poor Law Unions

Bury Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Maps and Gazetteers

England Jurisdictions 1851

Web Sites

References

  1. Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Published in 1870-72.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,595 times.