Birley, Herefordshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Birley, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Birley St+Peter Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Weobley PLU|
|Parish registers: 1754|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1663|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
BIRLEY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Weobley, hundred of Stretford, county of Hereford, 4 miles North East of Weobley. 
Birley St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the civil parish of Birley with Upper Hill  The parish boundary includes Upper Hill.
The parish church of St Peter has been designated as a grade I listed building 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this area was part of Weobley registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
St. Owens Street
Phone 01432 260565
Fax 01432 261720
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
Herefordshire Archives Harold Street Hereford HR1 2QX England Tel: 01432 260750 Fax: 01432 260066 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org Website: here
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Birley
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288819.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition, FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that genenerally charge for subscriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herdfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
|National School||Log book||1873-1915|
|Church of England School||Log book||1915-1954|
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 20:52.
- This page has been accessed 1,497 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More