Bishop Thornton, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bishop Thornton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bishop Thornton, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Ripon|
|Parish registers: 1816|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1816|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
BISHOP THORNTON (St John the Evangelist), a township-chapelry in Ripon parish, West Riding, Yorkshire; 5½ SW by S of Ripon. Post Town, Ripley, Yorkshire. There are Wesleyan and Roman Catholic chapels.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Bishop Thornton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|BISHOP THORNTON CHAPELRY (1816) Online Records|
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464293.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 12 January 2016, at 03:17.
- This page has been accessed 2,897 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News