Bishopwearmouth St Michael, Durham GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Bishopwearmouth St Michael, Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easington; Sunderland Town
County Durham
Poor Law Union Sunderland PLU
Registration District Easington; Houghton le Spring; Sunderland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567; Separate registers exist for Hylton South beginning 1821
Bishop's Transcripts: 1742/3; Separate records exist for Hylton South beginning 1821
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bishop Wearmouth or WEARMOUTH, BISHOP (St. Michael), a parish', partly in the union of Houghton-le-Spring, but chiefly in that of Sunderland, N. division of Easington ward and of the county of Durham. The parish also included the district chapels or chapelries of: Bishop Wearmouth St Thomas (by 1885), Ryhope (1827), Ford or sometimes called South Hylton (1821), North Hylton (1874) and Silksworth St Matthew (1872). There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, Wesleyans, Scottish Burghers, Presbyterians in connexion with the Scottish Church, Unitarians, and the Society of Friends; also a Roman Catholic chapel, and a Jews' synagogue. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/34 Date: March 1742-March 1743, March 1762-1855  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. The images for these transcripts have not yet been loaded and await engineering.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

The Parish Registers for the period 1567-1901 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Biw).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptists
  • Christians
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Jewsish
  • Primitive Methodists
  • Particular Baptist
  • Presbyterian
  • Presbyterian Church in England
  • Presbyterian Unitarian
  • Roman Catholic
  • Methodists of the New Connexion
  • Wesleyans
  • Scottish Burghers
  • Presbyterians in connexion with the Scottish Church
  • Unitarians
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Unitarian
  • United Presbyterian Church of Scotland
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241353.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Betts, Enid. A Sanderson Family and Its Branches. History of Stepen Sanderson born 1811, and his wife Elizabeth Aisbitt and descendants. According to the IGI the Sandersons were in Houghton le Spring, from the late 1500's. Other areas the descendants were in: Eighton Banks, Gateshead Pelaw, Bishop Wearmouth, with a branch going to USA and another branch to Australia. Surnames mention: Liddell, Fenwick, Wynn, Armstrong, Hunter, Best, Murray, Reay, Lockey, Wanless and Smith. Article dated 1560-1985, and is found in The Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal, vol.27, no.3,pages 92-95. Family History Library Reference 942.8 B2jo v.27.no.3.(autumn 2002)

Poor Law Unions

Sunderland Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bishopwearmouth St Michael on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 13 December 2013.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 May 2015, at 18:30.
  • This page has been accessed 3,508 times.