Bjursås parish, Sweden GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bjursås parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Back to Sweden►
History(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)
|Län||1631-1640 Kopparberg, 1641-1646 Säter, 1647- Kopparberg|
|Tingslag||-1893 Leksand, Ål and Bjursås, 1894-1915 Leksand, 1916-1947 Leksand and Gagnef, 1948-1970 Nedansiljans domsaga|
|Domsaga||1687-1875 Östra later called Österdalarne, 1876-1970 Nedansiljan, 1971- Falun|
|Fögderi||1720-1946 Nedansiljan, 1946- Falun|
|Kommun||1863-1970 Bjursås, 1971- Falun|
|Militär indelning||Dal-regementet: Rättviks Kompani, Dalregementet: Majorens (Leksands) and Rättviks kompanier|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/ULA/10116|
Backgården, Baggbo, Baggarsvet, Björsberg, Bodarne, Boränget,
Gopa, Gästgivare gården,
Liholm, Limbo, Lustbo,
Nedra Lars Sveden, Nygården, Näset,
Skarpsweden, Skärbaggeholen, Slättberg, Storgården, Storsweden, Stortägt, Stängslen, Sågen, Sågsbo,Sörskog,
Thomasbo, Tomta, Tysktägten
Öfra Lars Sweden.
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
(write information about the different collections, or tips on using them)
- Church Records
Good news for Bjursås researchers! You have earlier husförhörslängd (household examinations) available to you than previously thought.
Records were found among those for Leksand församling (parish) that did not seem to belong to Leksand. They turned out to be those for Bjursås. There is a notation on the Leksand husförhörslängder list inside the books to this effect. Why they are with the Leksand records is unclear. Bjursås does show as part of the Leksand kontract (set of parishes), and the Leksand tingslag (a judicial district) in a later time period. Each of these has a note on the SVAR Web site. For AI:5 – “Includes Gopa skriftelag in Bjursås, which was moved there 1792. For 1695-1701, only communion record.” And for AI:6 - “Valid from 1709 to 1735. Includes Gopa skriftelag in Bjursås, which was moved there 1792.” These village names do appear in the Leksand vital records for the late 1600's and the early 1700's time period. Perhaps the Gopa area was sharing the Leksand parish priest.
Current published listings for Bjursås parish at the Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD), on Genline, at Ancestry.com, and on the FamilySearch Catalog , all show that husförhörslängd for Bjursås start in 1710. These two volumes cover 1690-1707 and 1709-1735, respectively, for villages in the Gopa area. Here are the villages (with original spellings), the time periods covered (there are notations in the records for later dates than the examinations are for), and where they are found in the books:
Find these under Leksand parish:
FamilySearch Catalog #0206531, items 7 & 8
Listed as Leksand Volume AI:5; 1690-1705
Listed as Leksand Volume AI:6; 1709-1719
- Court Records
- Military Records
Societies and Libraries
Bjursås parish, Husförhörslängd 1847-1856 AI;19 and AI:20, Register.
Riksarkivet. "Bjursås Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/
- This page was last modified on 10 February 2015, at 21:36.
- This page has been accessed 2,056 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News