Black Notley, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Essex Gotoarrow.png  Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png  Black Notley

Guide to Black Notley, Essex family history and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Black Notley, Essex
[[File::Black Notley St Peter and Paul Essex.jpg|200px]]
:Black Notley St Peter and Paul Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Witham
County Essex
Poor Law Union Braintree PLU
Registration District Braintree
Records begin
Parish registers: 1570
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Witham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Colchester
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BLACK NOTLEY or NOTLEY, BLACK (St. Peter and St. Paul), is a parish, in the union of Braintree,the hundred of Witham, and N. division of Essex, it is 1½ mile (S. by E.) from Braintree. The village is near the river Brain, 1 mile NNW of Bulford railway station, and 1 3/4 miles SE of Braintree. The parish contains the hamlet of Row-Green.[1][2]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Black Notley Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1570
1570
1570
Images 1570-2003 EssexAncestors[3] 1570-1957 EssexAncestors[3] 1570-1955 EssexAncestors[3]
Indexes 1726-1750 FindMyPast[4] 1633-1955 FindMyPast[5]
1813-1850 Ancestry[6]

.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241379.

Poor Law Unions

Braintree Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  6. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 4,778 times.