Blackford, Perthshire, Scotland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Perthshire Gotoarrow.png Blackford

Parish #333

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Blackford. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

Contents

History

BLACKFORD, a parish, in the county of Perth, 4 miles (S. W.) from Auchterarder; containing part of the quoad sacra parish of Ardoch. This place probably derives its name from the ancient word fiord, a way; being equidistant from the towns of Perth and Stirling, between which it formed the principal line of communication. The parish is bounded on the north by the river Earn, and on the south by the river Devon. The church, built in 1738, and recently repaired, is adapted for a congregation of 500 persons.[1]


The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/. Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.


Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Blackford, as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

Year
FHL Film Number
Surname Indexes
1841
1042690
none
1851
1042261
none
1861
0103891
none
1871
0104072
none
1881
0203502
6086646 (6 fiche)
1891
0208730
none


The 1901 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1901, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the library.

Church Records

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.


Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Record Type Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1738-1854 0993481
Marriages; 1738-1854 0993481
Deaths: No entries none

 

Condition of Original Registers—

Indexed: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index available on computers at the Family History Library and family history centers.  The records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.
Births: After 1769, there are many irregular birth entries occurring out of order. Two entries dated 1721 and 1727 are recorded on page 171, about 1784, and one for 1722 in the year 1817. One page of irregular entries 1724–1798 are recorded after marriages for December 1796.
Marriages: There are no entries December 1751–March 1753, August 1783–September 1787, and December 1800–January 1802.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.

Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes 1697–1846
Accounts 1709–1714
Distributions 1765–1822
Collections 1738–1822
Baptisms 1855–1865
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/500.

Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union Lists.

Blackford Free Church

History—
This congregation was formed in 1842. The church was built in 1844, the charge was sanctioned in 1845, and a school erected in 1847.
Membership: 1848, 193; 1900, 189.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900: ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D. 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details are given in the source.

Records—
FHL Film Number
Baptismal Register 1844–1875 0889483 item 2 X
Marriage Register 1846–1875 0889483 item 2 X
Note: The X means records have been extracted.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records

Blackford was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Dunblane until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunbland. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk. You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Dunblane.

The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Perthshire. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Perthshire and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'

Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 124-151. Adapted. Date accessed: 02 May 2014.


Return to Perthshire parish list.


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 February 2015, at 18:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,789 times.