Blackmore, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Blackmore, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.pngEssex Parishes 

Guide to Blackmore, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blackmore, Essex
Priory Church of St. Laurence, Blackmore, Essex.jpg
Priory Church of St. Laurence, Blackmore, Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Chelmsford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Ongar PLU
Registration District Ongar
Records begin
Parish registers: 1602
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingatestone
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Blackmore (St Lawrence), is a parish in Ongar district, Essex; it is 3 1/2 miles ESE of Chipping-Ongar railway station, and 4 miles NW of Ingatestone.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Blackmore, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6][7]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[8]
Blackmore, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD 1602-1750
ESSEX 1602-1902 1602-1957 1602-1893
FREG 1602-1749 1602-1749
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1602-1852 1602-1836
NBI 1678-1893

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office See Also Blackmore Baptist Church

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241364.


Poor Law Unions

Ongar Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

Blackmore on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 19 April 2012.
  5. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  6. Batches C035981-C035982, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  7. Batch M035981, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  8. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 June 2015, at 22:55.
  • This page has been accessed 9,431 times.