Blackrod, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Blackrod, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blackrod, Lancashire
Blackrod St Katherine Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Wigan PLU
Registration District Wigan
Records begin
Parish records: 1606
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bolton le Moors
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

Blackrod (St Katherine) is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Lancashire, created in 1730 from chapelry in [[Bolton le Moors St Peter, Lancashire],] union of Wigan, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 4½ miles (S. S. E.) from Chorley. [1]

A church is the earliest recorded building in 1338, dedicated to St. Katherine (spelling first documented) and of Norman design. A lot of the Elizabethan work can still be seen, but the parish church was enlarged in 1776, galleries added in 1837, the roof renewed in 1894, the chancel rebuilt in 1905 and nave in 1911. During this time the spelling has changed to Catherine, and now the current Katharine. There are six bells in the west tower, cast in 1776, renewed in 1922, and the clock was illuminated in 1947.

The name Blackrod derives from the Old English, blaec and rodu, meaning a "dark clearing". The first mention of the town dates to 1189, when it was recorded as Blacherode. It has been suggested that "rod" may also mean Holy Rood (Cross of Christ).

The main industry of the town was coal mining,  agriculture  and a weaving mill (built in 1906), but today only a few farms remain with the pits all closed. Today it is mainly a residential area, but still retains a Town Mayor and Town Council.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Blackrod chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bolton le Moors St Peter to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


BLACKROD ST KATHERINE Chapelry (1592) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1606-1860 1601-1633; 1702-1754  1818-1840, 1855-1863
LOPC 1606-1863 1613-1754 - part. 1818-1863
LBMD None 1838-1992 None
FMP None 1614-1700 None
AC 1606-1701 1606-1701 1606-1701
FREG 1606-1702 1613-1700 1607-1701
BOLTON Le MOORS ST PETER PARISH (1573) Indexes (ancient parish containing BLACKROD Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS  1573-1660; 1713-1829 1573-1837 None
LOPC 1573-1660 1573-1660; 1813-1938 1573-1660; 1712-1733; 1765-1801
LBMD 1837-1886 1837-1992 1837-1886
AC 1587-1660 1587-1660 1587-1660


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Blackrod and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bolton le Moors to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BOLTON Le MOORS ST PETER PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306921.


Poor Law Unions

Wigan Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 270-275. Date accessed: 03 September 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 April 2014, at 03:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,243 times.