Blackwell, Derbyshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Blackwell, Derbyshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Blackwell, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blackwell, Derbyshire
Blackwell St Werburgh Derbyshire.jpg
Blackwell St Werburgh Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Scarsdale
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Mansfield PLU
Registration District Mansfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1664
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alfreton
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BLACKWELL, a township, in the parish and union of Bakewell, hundred of High Peak, N. division of the county of Derby, 3¼ miles (S. W.) from Tideswell. [1]

Blackwell St Werburgh is an Ancient Parish.

See also A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 275-278. here

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241296.


See Derbyshire Census

Church records

Blackwell parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials havehave online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Blackwell At Werburg ( 1685) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1685-1901
  NONE
1685-1907
  NONE
1685-1884
  NONE

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Blackwell St Werburgh includes the hamlet of Newton. Derbyshire Record Office reference D 1034 has deposited registers Bap 1685-1981 Mar 1685-1991 Burials 1685-1972 Banns 1754-1770, 1880-1949, 1962-1985

Westhouses St Saviour was founded as a mission church in this parish. the church was built in 1898 and closed in 1994 Derbyshire Record Office reference D4844 has deposited registers Bap 1993-1994 Banns 1985-1995

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837 for registration district history Mansfield registration district

Registration District
  • Mansfield

Poor Law Unions

Mansfield Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Blackwell by Alfreton on GENUKI

Blackwell by Chelmorton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 275-278. Date accessed: 12 April 2013.



 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 June 2015, at 20:09.
  • This page has been accessed 2,604 times.