Blaenporth, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Blaen-porth, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngParishes of Historic CardiganshireGotoarrow.pngBlaenporth

A guide to genealogy in Blaenporth, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...

Blaenporth is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

BLAENPORTH (BLAEN-PORTH), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 5 miles (E. by N.) from Cardigan, on the road to Aberystwith. The lands in this parish are nearly all enclosed, and in a good state of cultivation. The church, dedicated to St. David, consists of a nave, chancel, and porch, and has a bell suspended at the west end of the roof. There are places of worship for dissenters, with two Sunday schools conducted gratuitously.[1]

For further informations see Blaenporth at Genuki

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305.


Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Wales (1849), pp. 88-92. Adapted. Date accessed: 17 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 00:16.
  • This page has been accessed 556 times.