Blaengwrach, Neath Port TalbotEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Blaengwrach is a parish.
BLAEN-GWRACH, a chapelry, in the parish of Glyn-Corwg, union and hundred of Neath, county of Glamorgan, South Wales, 10 miles (N. E. by E.) from Neath. The village is situated near the head of the vale of Neath, which is here seen in all its varied and romantic beauty. The striking character of the scenery, abounding with luxuriant verdure, is heightened by contrast with the sterile brow of a lofty mountain, marked with rocky declivities indented by numerous deep fissures, through which, after heavy rains or rapid thaws, the waters rush down in impetuous torrents, exhibiting a scene of grandeur and sublimity. The river Gwrach, from which the village takes its name, swollen with the mountain streams that fall into its channel, frequently overflows its banks, and inundates the adjacent meadows, which become one entire sheet of water. The chapel is small, not being more than thirty-two feet in length and ten in breadth. There is a place of worship for Socinians, which is one of the oldest in the principality.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Several Internet sites list names or indexes to the records, including:
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census for the entire country was started in 1841 and continued every ten years. The most recent census available to the public is 1911. Learn more about these records by reading the census article.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464330. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Glamorgan Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in Wales. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place. Here is a link to a web site with gazetteers and maps.
Click here to see a list of communities in Blaengwrach.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 16 January 2014, at 18:37.
- This page has been accessed 370 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More