Blewbury, Berkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Blewbury, Berkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Blewbury

Guide to Blewbury, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Blewbury, Berkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Moreton; Reading
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wantage PLU
Registration District Wallingford; Wantage
Records begin
Parish registers: 1588
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Abingdon
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BLEWBERRY (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Wantage, partly in the hundred of Moreton, but chiefly in that of Reading, county of Berks, 4½ miles (N. E. by N.) from East Ilsley, with the chapelries of Aston-Upthorp and Upton, and the liberty of Nottingham-Fee. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Blewbury, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Blewbury, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK



Undefined
IGI 1588-1813
1588-1789


JOIN

1588-1789


OFHS 1588-1995
1588-1995
1588-1994
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241198.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Blewbury in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 282-286. Date accessed: 27 March 2013
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Berkshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 January 2014.
  4. 'Berkshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 27 January 2014.
  5. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 24 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 March 2015, at 17:37.
  • This page has been accessed 2,055 times.