Blood IndiansEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Blood Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

438px-1-Makoyepuk Wolf-child - Blood.jpg
Canada Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Alberta Gotoarrow.png Indians of Alberta Gotoarrow.png Blood Indians

The Blood Tribe belongs to the Blackfeet Confederacy, consisting of the Blackfeet, Blood, and Piegan Tribes.

Ancestral Homeland: Northern Plains of the United States, southern Canada.

To learn how to get started with American Indian research, find research facilities, and American Indian websites click here.

Contents

Tribal Headquarters

History

Brief Timeline

  • 1836: Diphtheria epidemic
  • 1837: Smallpox epidemic; two-thirds of the tribe perished
  • 1855 October 17
  • 1855: Treaty created a reservation in Montana
  • 1869: Smallpox epidemic
  • 1874: Many left the United States and migrated to Canada
  • 1878: Sign Treaty No.7 with Canada, placing each of the tribes on a single reservation in Alberta, Canada
  • 1881: The Blood return to the Canadian reservation after living in the U.S. for a few years.

Tribal conflicts with: Cree, Crow, and Sioux

Reservation

A track of land set aside for the occupation and use by American Indians.

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

The Blood Indian Tribe was under the jurisdiction of the following agency and Superintendencies

Blackfeet Agency

Montana Superintendency

Washington Superintendency

Central Superintendency

Dakota Superintendency

Idaho Superintendency

Treaty

Important Web Sites

For Further Reading

See For Further Reading.

References


 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 February 2016, at 06:20.
  • This page has been accessed 4,825 times.