Bloxwich, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Bloxwich, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bloxwich, Staffordshire
Bloxwich All Saints Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Walsall PLU
Registration District Walsall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1733
Bishop's Transcripts: 1733
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walsall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BLOXWICH, a chapelry district, in the parish and union of Walsall, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 2 miles(N. N. W.) from Walsall, on the road to Stafford. There are places of worship for Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists; and, at Harden, a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Bloxwich All Saints formed 1810 from Walsall St Matthew, Staffordshire of which it was formerly a chapelry of that parish

Bloxwich All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
BLOXWICH ALL SAINTS (1670) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1721-1791
1721-1791
1733-1802, 1813-1874, 1901-1954
NBI



1670-1839

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1733-1950 Mar 1843-1951 Bur 1733-1954
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1733-1873 Mar 1733-1869 Bur 1733-1872

Subsequent formations from this parish include:

  1. Bloxwich St James (Old Lane) formed 1904 registers not deposited
  2. Bloxwich St Thomas (Mossley) formed 1959 register not deposited
  3. Bloxwich The Holy Ascension formed as district church 1968 registers not deposited


Blakenall Health Christ Churchoriginated as a mission of Bloxwich Church at the Blakenall Heath National School. A site in Bloxwich Road, Leamore, was originally chosen to build a church in 1865 but the foundations were moved to a site in Blakenall Heath given by Lord Bradford. The Church was opened in 1870. It was consecrated in 1872 and a year later the parish was assigned out of Bloxwich.

Blakenall Health Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
  BLAKENALL HEATH CHRIST CHURCH (1871) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1871-1872





Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Non-Conformist Churches

Bloxwich St Thomas Roman Catholic registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[4]
BLOXWICH ST THOMAS ROMAN CATHOLIC (1670) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI



1670-1839


Bloxwich Pinfold Primitive Methodist Chapel parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
BLOXWICH PINFOLD PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1861) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1861-1964





Bloxwich United Methodist Free Church (New St)  parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
  BLOXWICH UNITED METHODIST FREE CHURCH (1902) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1902-1963





Bloxwich Wesleyan Methodist Chapel (High St)  parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
  BLOXWICH WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL (1827) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1827-1906







Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474617.

Poor Law Unions

Walsall Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 23 October 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 2.4 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 July 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2014, at 15:22.
  • This page has been accessed 2,157 times.