Bocking, Essex GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bocking, Essex)

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Bocking, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bocking, Essex
St Marys Church, Bocking Churchstreet, Braintree Essex.jpg
St Marys Church, Bocking Churchstreet, Braintree Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Braintree
Registration District Braintree
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hedingham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Peculiar Deanery of Bocking
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bocking (St Mary the Virgin), is a village, a parish, and a subdistrict, in Braintree district, Essex. The village stands on the left bank of the Blackwater river, it is on the Braintree railway, adjacent to Braintree; it forms a suburb of that town. There is an Independent chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bocking, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
IARC = InternetArchive - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7][8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
Bocking, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1593-1837


ESSEX
1561-1959
1593-1951
1558-1947
FREG 1561-1605
1655-1670, 1906-1913
1655-1670
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
IARC 1561-1605
1593-1639
1558-1628
IGI 1561-1605
1593-1639


NBI



1558-1954

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office

Bocking St Mary the Virgin parish register, Bishop's transcripts, transcripts and 1793 and 1807 census

Bocking St Peter (in the Fields) parish registers

Records online for Bocking meeting (Society of Friends Bishop's transcripts Burials,Bocking Congregational Church

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Protestant Dissenters
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241369.


Poor Law Unions

Braintree Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bocking on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: access date 7 May 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  3. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
  4. Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 19 April 2012.
  5. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  6. James Junius Goodwin, The First Register of Saint Mary's Church, Bocking, Essex, England. Baptisms 1561-1605; Marriages, 1593-1639; Burials, 1558-1628 (1903). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  7. Batches P008101, C008102, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  8. Batch M008101, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 15 May 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 15 May 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 February 2016, at 20:10.
  • This page has been accessed 13,377 times.