Bolingbroke with Hareby, Lincolnshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Bolingbroke with Hareby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. ]

Bolingbroke with Hareby, Lincolnshire
Old Bolingbroke St Peter & St Paul Lincolnshire.jpg
Old Bolingbroke St Peter & St Paul Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bolingbroke Soke
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Spilsby PLU
Registration District Spilsby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Hareby beginning 1587
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562; Separate records exist for Hareby beginning 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bolingbroke
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOLINGBROKE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Spilsby, W. division of the soke of Bolingbroke, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 30 miles (E. S. E.) from Lincoln, and 129 (N.) from London. Hareby was united in 1739 to Bolingbroke. Other places in the parish include: Hareby West Fen, New Bolingbroke, Hareby, West Fen Allotment, East Fen Allotment, and Old Bolingbroke West Fen. The 13th century church was restored in 1889-1890 There is a place of worship for Wesleyans; also a free school.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Spilsby sub-district of Spilsby registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Old Bolingbroke Par 1, New Bolingbroke Par1 and  Hareby Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bolingbroke with Hareby

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438761.

Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Spilsby Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Bolingbroke/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-302. Date accessed: 09 August 2013.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 17:59.
  • This page has been accessed 2,941 times.