Family History LibraryEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Utah Gotoarrow.png Archives and Libraries Gotoarrow.png Family History Library

Guide to Family History Library ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Family History Library.jpg
Family History Library 2nd floor.JPG
Reference consultants.JPG
Welcome to the
Family History



What's New

New Service

As an added convenience to our guests, flash drives and earphones will be sold in the copy card vending machines on each floor, starting on May 1st. The vending machines accept cash or credit cards.

New Guest Services Model

The reference areas on the B1 International floor, the B2 British floor, and the U.S./Canada 2nd floor have been remodeled.

B1 Reference remodel.jpg

Need help? Ask someone with a blue lanyard for help with research. Ask someone with a red lanyard for collection questions. Look for these lanyards:
To prevent wasting your time standing in line waiting for research assistance, we have implemented a paging system to connect you with the needed expertise.

Facebook: Website


Family History Library
35 North West Temple Street
Salt Lake City, Utah 84150-3400

Telephones: 1 801-240-6996

  • Classes, Hours, Parking: 1 801-240-6536
  • Lost and Found: 1 801-240-5624
  • Group Reservations: 1 801-240-4673
  • World Wide Support Research Help: 1-801-240-2584
Family History Library film cabinets 2nd fl.jpg
Hours: Normal Hours of Operation
  • Mon: 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.
  • Tues-Fri: 8:00 A.M. to 9:00 P.M.
  • Sat: 9:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.
  • Sun: Closed

Holidays: Click here

Maps: Google Map; MapQuest.

Parking and Transportation:

Parking can be an issue in downtown Salt Lake City. The following parking is available in the area:

Free: Parking lot behind the Church History Museum
  • Monday to Friday, 4:30-9 pm; all day Saturday
  • Limitations: Closed during Conference Center events, and from the day after Thanksgiving to January 2nd. Parking subject to availability.
Pay: For a Family History Library area pay-parking lots map click here. Pricing is subject to change and is not controlled by the Family History Library. As of July 16, 2013 the following fees apply:
  • Salt Palace Parking a maximum of $12.00 per day.
  • Lot on the northwest corner of North Temple is $2 under 1 hr, $5 under 2 hrs, $8 under 12 hrs
  • The JSMB underground parking is a flat rate of $10.
Public Transportation: For FrontRunner (commuter rail), TRAX (light rail), and bus public transportation information see the Utah Transit Authority Internet site.

Library Resources

Class Schedule and Online Webinars

Attend classes in person in the Family History Library or view some of them online as a Webinar. Click on the month to see a list of all classes. All classes and webinars are free to the public. View the following schedules using Google Chrome, or Internet Explorer. They may NOT appear using a Mozilla Firefox browser.

October, 2015
November, 2015

Collection Description

Largest genealogical collection in the world—it is especially strong for the United States, British Isles, Scandinavia, Mexico, and parts of Germany, but also has material from all parts of the world. Includes civil vital births, marriages, and deaths, church records, county and local histories, court records, military records, probate records, American passenger arrival lists and naturalizations, and land records. The large microfilm and book collections are being digitized and are showing up on the FamilySearch Internet site.

Subscriptions websites available at the Family History Library

Click the link Subscriptions websites at the FHL link to see what is accessible at the Library. 

Guest Resources

  • Microfilm Readers jpg.jpg.jpg
    Over 500 public guest computers
  • Over 300 microfilm readers
  • 36 microfiche readers
  • 27 digital microfilm and microfiche copiers (to paper or to flash drive)
  • 3 HD book scanners
  • 14 book copiers (to paper or to flash drive)
  • Seating capacity for 375 at tables
  • Orientation and research classes


Gifts of family histories, autobiographies, biographies, indexes, local histories, and well-organized collections of genealogy research are welcome. If you own the copyright, you can indicate that you would like the item digitized for the Internet. More details about donations.

Request a "Vault Film" before Visiting

Films in the "Vault" take several days to reach the Family History Library. If the Catalog shows a film is in the vault, order it ahead of time so it will be at the Library when you arrive. For details see Order Process.


Currently about 30 full-time and part-time professional staff
Approximately 600 trained volunteers
British Research Consultants Directory
International Research Consultants Directory
United States and Canada Research Consultants Directory

Plan Group Visits

Click the link to review the Group visit options and make a reservation.

Library Rules

Click the link Library Rules to see the up-to-date rules in the Family History Library.

FHL Visitors Describe Their Experiences

Video Tour: Family History Library -- recorded by staff (February 2010)
Another Item Crossed Off My Bucket List, or Is It? - by Jill Ball (visited in February 2010)
Visiting the SLC: Days 1 & 2 of posts by Randy Seaver (visited in Jan 2009)
How to Prepare to Visit the Family History Library
Request A Vault Film before Visiting the Family History Library
What Gives With FamilySearch? The Rest of the Story (Sep 2011) - Valerie provides an in-depth blog post about the volunteers in the FHL. 
Salt Lake City Library: Ready, Set Go! - by Lorine McGinnis Schulze
A Fresh Look at the Family History Library - A Library without Walls - by Alan E. Mann, Manager at FamilySearch, presented at NGS 2010 Conference

FamilySearch Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library
Over 4,500 family history centers operate in more than 100 countries
Local FamilySearch Centers are staffed by helpful volunteers
About 100,000 rolls of microfilm are circulated to family history centers each month.
Click here to locate a nearby family history center, or call 1 866-406-1830 in the United States or Canada. Click here for the map-based locator.

Alternate Repositories

If you cannot find a source you need at the Family History Library, a similar source may be available at one of the following.

Repositories with very large genealogical collections
Library of Congress, Washington, DC, Local History and Genealogy Reading Room is part of the world's largest library including 50,000 genealogies, 100,000 local histories, and collections of manuscripts, microfilms, maps, newspapers, photographs, and published material, strong in North American, British Isles, and German sources.

National Archives I, Washington DC, census, pre-WWI military service & pensions, passenger lists, naturalizations, passports, federal bounty land, homesteads, bankruptcy, ethnic sources, prisons, and federal employees.

Allen County Public Library, Fort Wayne, Indiana, home of the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), more than 350,000 printed books and 513,000 items of microfilm/fiche including family histories, censuses, city directories, passenger lists, military records, local histories, American Indians, African Americans, Canadian, British, & German collections.[1]

Repositories with significant Latter-day Saint collections
Church History Library, Salt Lake City, Utah, LDS history 1830-now: diaries, manuscripts, Church records, photos, oral history, architectural drawings, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, maps, microforms, audiovisual material[2]

Daughters of Utah Pioneers, Salt Lake City, Utah, the Museum displays artifacts, and the History Department collects and preserves about 100,000 histories of pioneers who set out for, settled, or were born in Utah by 10 May 1869.[3]

Utah State Historical Society, Salt Lake City, Utah, family histories, photographs, books, manuscript collections, telephone directories, maps, newspapers, yearbooks, and periodicals are available in the Research Center and online.[4]

Neighboring repositories
Brigham Young University Library, Provo, Utah, genealogy, history, census, Family History Centerdigital family history.
Salt Lake City Public Library, Salt Lake City, Utah, Utah newspapers on microfilm, and genealogical databases.
Utah Vital Records Office, Salt Lake City, Utah, statewide births and deaths since 1905; marriages and divorces since 1978.
Utah State Archives, Salt Lake City, Utah, newspaper, death, land, court, history, naturalization, military, directories, criminals.
Utah State University, Logan, Utah, Special Collections and Archives local historical and biographical sources.
University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah, history, biography, newspapers, government documents, and Western Americana.
United States District Court of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah, federal court records.
Salt Lake County Court, Salt Lake City, Utah, local court records.
Salt Lake County Clerk, Salt Lake City, Utah, county marriages since 1887, probate records since 1852.
Salt Lake County Recorder, Salt Lake City, Utah, property, tax, and military discharge DD-214 papers.

  1. "Genealogy Center" in Allen County Public Library [Internet site] at (accessed 18 October 2008).
  2. "Church History Library and Archives" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints [Internet site] at (accessed 18 October 2008).
  3. "Pioneer Museum" and "History Department" pages in International Society ~ Daughter of Utah Pioneers [Internet site] at (accessed 18 October 2008).
  4. "Research Center and Collections" and "Collections Available at the Research Center" in Utah State History [Internet site] at (accessed 18 October 2008).


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 October 2015, at 02:30.
  • This page has been accessed 461,463 times.