Boone County, Missouri GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Boone County, Missouri)

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Boone County

Guide to Boone County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records



Boone County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 16, 1820
County Seat Columbia
Courthouse
Address Boone County Courthouse
600 E Broadway
Columbia, MO 65201
Phone: 573.874.7345
Boone County Website

Contents

County Courthouse




County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1810 [1]

History

Parent County

1820--Boone County was created 16 November 1820 from Howard County. It was named for Daniel Boone. County seat: Columbia [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Audrain  • Callaway  • Cole  • Cooper  • Howard  • Moniteau  • Randolph

Howard CountyCooper CountyRandolph CountyMonroe CountyRalls CountyMorgan CountyMiller CountyAudrain CountyMoniteau CountyCole CountyOsage CountyCallaway CountyMontgomery CountyBoone CountyGasconade CountyPettis CountyCooper CountyBenton CountySaline CountyCarroll CountyChariton CountyMOBoone.jpg


Resources

Cemeteries

Columbia Cemetery, Columbia BillionGraves

Census

For tips on accessing Boone County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Boone County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

A History of Boone County, Missouri Written and comp. from the most authentic official and private sources; including a history of its townships, towns, and villages... (1882) is available online free from Google Books.

  • Columbia : the coming city of central Missouri. Digital images of original published: Columbia, Mo. : Statesman Pub. Co., 1910. Salt Lake City : Digitized by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2012.

Maps

Moboone.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 1st Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
:- 1st Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company L
:- 61st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 61st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 61st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
:- 61st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 61st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 61st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 61st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 61st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
:- 61st Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
:- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
:- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
:- 9th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F

Civil War Battle

The following Civil War Battle was fought in Boone County

Map showing Civil War battles in Missouri

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Boone County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Columbia Missouri Statesman, 1843-1886. Searchable online at the State Historical Society of Missouri’s Digital Collections as part of the Index to Selected Missouri Newspapers.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Boone County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Boone County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Boone County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Boone County, Missouri Genealogy
GeneaBloggers enter "missouri" in the search box to see a list and links to Missouri Blogs
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Boone County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Boone County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Boone fckLRCounty, Missouri. Page 397 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 15 August 2012)
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5a/Igimissouria.pdf.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 March 2015, at 19:40.
  • This page has been accessed 12,859 times.