Bootton, Norfolk GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bootton, Norfolk)

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Bootton, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bootton, Norfolk
Booton Church.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Erpingham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union St Faith's
Registration District St Faiths
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ingworth
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office


Parish History

Booton Church of St Michael and All Angels is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich and an architecturally individul church. It was created on the shell of a medieval building in the 19th century by the rector Revd Whitwell Elwin over a period of 50 years. Its a gothic fantasy, with palace-like towers on the outside, and oak angels and stained glass on the inside..
BOOTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of St. Faith's, hundred of South Erpingham, E. division of Norfolk, 1 mile (E. S. E.) from Reepham. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • St Faith's 1837-1938
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Bootton, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[9]
Bootton, Norfolk Genealogy Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images

FREG 1600-1880
FS ATs 1600-1812 1600-1812 1600-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined



TIN 1813-1880

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held at the Family History Library.
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Baptisms and burials 1600-1610, 1623-1634, 1665-1812 Marriages 1600-1610, 1623-1634, 1665-1811
1526779 Item 7

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438854.

Poor Law Unions

St Faith

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 302-305. Date accessed 2 September 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 10 February 2014.
  7. 'National Burial Index - Norfolk Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 16 April 2014.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 11 April 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 May 2015, at 11:33.
  • This page has been accessed 2,381 times.