Bottesford, Leicestershire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bottesford, Leicestershire)

England  Gotoarrow.png  LeicestershireGotoarrow.png  Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Bottesford, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bottesford, Leicestershire
St+Mary Bottesford Leicestershire.jpg
St+Mary Bottesford Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Framland
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Grantham PLU
Registration District Grantham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1580
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Framland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOTTESFORD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Grantham, hundred of Framland, N. division of the county of Leicester, 7 miles (W. N. W.) from Grantham. There is a place of worship for Particular Baptists.[1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Bottesford like this:

BOTTESFORD, or Botsworth, a village and a parish in the district of Grantham and county of Leicester. The village stands in the vale of Belvoir. near the Grantham canal and the Nottingham and Grantham railway, 7 miles WNW of Grantham. The parish includes also the hamlets of Easthorpe and Normanton. There are four dissenting chapels.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bottesford, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[3]
Bottesford, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1563-1910
1563-1910
1563-1910
TGEN
1563-1812

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Bottesford Bap 1563 - 1941 Marr 1563 - 2007 (Banns to1977) Bur 1563 - 1995

The Family History Library has these church records for Bottesford

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438740.

 

Census Records 1841-1911 are available online and at The National Archives at Kew, Surrey, England

Genealogy

Webb, Valmai. a Letter To Paris.  A letter from Samuel Edenborough to his 13 year old son Samuel Bolton Edenborough.  Ilustrated with a photograph of Samuel Bolton Edenborough when he was grown and in the Army. Covers years 1555-1818,  Article in Hel Achau, #104, March 2010, pages 8-9, Family History Library Ref. 942.93 D25h

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 309-314. Date accessed: 16 August 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 25 January 2014.
  3. 'Leicestershire Parish Record Transcripts,' The Genealogist, accessed 10 March 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 June 2015, at 19:35.
  • This page has been accessed 2,513 times.