Boulton, DerbyshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Boulton, Derbyshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Boulton, Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow PLU
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1756
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stanton by Bridge
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOULTON, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Peter, Derby, union of Shardlow, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 3½ miles (S. E. by E.) from Derby. [1]

Resources

Church records

Boulton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials haveonline indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Boulton St Mary the Virgin (1797) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1896-1912
  NONE
1841-1912
  NONE
1908-1912
  NONE

Boulton St Mary registers need to be read in conjunction with neighbouring Alvaston, Derbyshire The sequence of Baptism and burials registers for 1614-1754 will be found in the Alvaston, Derbyshire registers for this parish events. This parish contains baptisms and burials for 1797-1809 which are for Alvaston, Derbyshire events.

Derbyshire Record Office reference D1532 and D878 has deposited registers Bap 1614-1975 Mar 1614-1807, 1813-1833, 1841-1974 Burials 1614-1976 Banns 1756-1802, 1903-1915, 1933-1946, 1948-1956, 1959-1976, 1980-1992

To find the names of neighbouring parishes, use Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241293.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District

  • Shardlow

After 1968 registration became part of Derby registration district.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Poor Law Union

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 314-317. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 21:41.
  • This page has been accessed 855 times.