Bourn, Cambridgeshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Bourn, Cambridgeshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Gotoarrow.png Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Bourn, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bourn, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Longstow
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Caxton PLU
Registration District Caxton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bourn
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOURN (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Caxton and Arrington, hundred of Longstow, county of Cambridge, 1¾ mile (S. E. by E.) from Caxton.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Parish registers and poor law records for Bourn, 1564-1877 at the FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Bourn, 1599-1877 at the FHL

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241223.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bourn on GENUKI

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Date accessed: 08 January 2014.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 18:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,506 times.